top of page

Yamas & Niyamas

You may have heard one of your yoga teachers mention the yamas and niyamas in passing at one of your yoga classes. Aparigraha is a popular one (non-attachment) But what are they?

They are two parts of the 8 limbs of Yoga (the yoga path) and include a list of character building restraints & observances for creating a strong container. Which are you working on this week?

Yamas (character building restraints)

  1. Ahimsa (non-violence)

  2. Satya (truth)

  3. Asteya (non-stealing)

  4. Brahmacarya (energy management)

  5. Aparigraha (non-attachment) Niyama (character observances)

  6. Saucha (cleanliness)

  7. Santosha (contentment)

  8. Tapas (vigor/discipline)

  9. Svadhyaya (self-study)

  10. Ishvara Pranidhana (surrender to the divine)

Me personally? I'm working on surrendering. Always with the surrendering. Who's with me?

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page